INEC releases final list of candidates for Ekiti guber election

By JOHN ONAH, Abuja –

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC), has released the final list of candidates for the Ekiti State governorship election, scheduled for Saturday June 18, 2022.

The list of 16 party flag bearers and their deputies was made public in a statement signed and issued by the Chairman, Information and Voter Education Committee (IVEC), Festus Okoye, Monday.

Okoye said the list has been published in the INEC State and Local Government offices in Ekiti State, as well as its official website and social media platforms for public information In compliance with the Electoral Act 2022, following the close of nominations by political parties.

The list of Political parties and their candidates released were: Accord Party (A)- Reuben Boye Famuyibo, Deputy – Olumide Ezekiel Falana; African Action Congress (AAC) – Ajagunigbala Moses Olajide, Deputy- Oludele Oluwabunmi; African Democratic Congress (ADC) – Oluwole Olumayokun Oluyede, Deputy- Popoola Hidiat Simbo; African Democratic Party (ADP) – Elebute-Halle Josephine Kemi, Deputy- Afuye Idowu Sunday; and All Progressives Congress (APC)- Abiodun Abayomi Oyebanji, Deputy- Afuye Monisade.

Others are: All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA)- Benjamin Olufemi Obidoyin, Deputy- Oluwafemi Anthony Faeji; Allied Peoples Movement (APM)- Fagbemi Peter Adegbenro, Deputy- Akinyeye Oluwatosin Eunice; Action Peoples Party (APP)- Christiana Modupe Olatawura, Deputy – Ibukun Solomon Owolabi; Labour Party (LP) – Daramola Rowland Olugbenga, Deputy – Onile Ibrahim Yusuf; New Nigeria Peoples Party (NNPP)- Fatomilola Oladosu Abiodun, Deputy- Ade-Ajayi Oluwatoyin Hannah; and National Rescue Movement (NRM)- Iyaniwura Tope Ifedayo, Deputy- Arowolo Kayode Williams.

Also on the list are: Peoples Democratic Party (PDP)- Olabisi Kolawole, Deputy- Kolapo Olugbenga Kolade; Peoples Redemption Party (PRP)- Agboola Olaniyi Ben, Deputy- Ogidan Tolulope Oluwatoyin; Social Democratic Party (SDP)- Olusegun Adebayo Oni, Deputy- James Oladipo Owolabi; Young Progressives Party (YPP)- Adebowale Oluranti Ajayi; Deputy- Olaseni Nureni Babatunde; and Zenith Labour Party (ZLP)- Adeolu Kolade Akinyemi, Deputy- Damilola Akintoye.

INEC urged political parties to notify it in writing within the stipulated 90 days, if they observe any omission(s) on the list.

It said “the Commission wishes to remind political parties that under Section 32(2) of the Electoral Act 2022, any party that observes that the name of its candidate is missing from the list “shall notify the Commission in writing, signed by its National Chairman and Secretary, supported with an affidavit not later than 90 days to the election”.

“Furthermore, the attention of parties is drawn to Section 32(3) of the Electoral Act 2022, which provides that failure to notify the Commission “shall not be ground to invalidate the election”.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.