Nasarawa Speaker swears in 2 lawmakers



The Speaker, Nasarawa State House of Assembly, Rt. Hon. Danladi Jatau, has sworn in two members of the House,  who won their Feb. 3, 2024 re-run election in their constituencies.

Those sworn in were Hon Mohammed Adamu Omadefu (APC-Keana) and Hon Musa Ibrahim Abubakar (NNPP-Doma South)

The Speaker performed the swearing in during the House proceedings in Lafia today.

The Speaker, while congratulating the two lawmakers for retaining their seats, urged them to continue to live above board while discharging their duties.

“First and foremost, I want to congratulate Hon Mohammed Adamu Omadefu of Keana constituency and Hon Musa Ibrahim Abubakar of Doma South constituency for winning their Feb. 3rd, 2024 re- run elections”

“We are happy that you have retained your seats to represent your constituencies in this House” he said

The Speaker also called on the people of their constituencies to embrace spirit of sportsmanship by supporting Hon Omadefu and Hon Musa to succeed.

The Speaker equally called for sustained unity among members for the overall peace and development of the House and the State.

” We sincerely thank God for our unity. In this House, we are one family irrespective of our affiliations.

” Let’s continue to work together, live as one family for the overall development of this House and the State at large,” he said.

Responding, Hon Musa Ibrahim Abubakar and Hon. Muhammed Adamu Omadefu appreciated God and their people for returning them to the house.

They also appreciated the Speaker for his purposeful leadership and other members for their support and assured the Speaker of their support to succeed.

They assured the people of their constituencies of their readiness to continue to provide more dividends of democracy to them.

Recall that On 28th of November, 2023, an Appeal court sitting in Abuja declared the election of Keana constituency inconclusive thus nullifying the election of Mohammed Adamu Omadefu, the majority leader of Nasarawa State House of Assembly as the Appeal Court on Nov. 29, 2023 also ordered for re-run election in one polling unit of Doma South Constituency, declaring the election of Hon Musa Ibrahim Abubakar inconclusive.

It would also be reported that the Independent National Electoral Commission on February 3, 2024, conducted a re-run elections in Keana and Doma local governments respectively where Mohammed Adamu Omadefu of All progressives Congress APC and Musa Ibrahim Abubakar of New Nigeria People’s Party (NNPP) retained their seats.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.