Rerun: PDP sweeps four state assembly seats in Bauchi




The Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) has swept the rerun elections held on Saturday in 42 polling units in four Constituencies across three Local Government Areas of Bauchi State.

The Appeal Court sitting in Abuja had declared the March 18, 2023 state assembly election inconclusive in 42 polling units and ordered for a rerun election in affected areas.

The Appellate Court’s judgement affected the Speaker of the Bauchi State House of Assembly who is the immediate past Chairman of the Conference of Speakers of State Legislatures of Nigeria, Abubakar Suleiman.

The election in 10 polling units in the Ningi Central were declared inconclusive and a rerun ordered in the affected PUs.

The deputy Speaker, Jamilu Dahiru, was also sacked from his Baucbi Central seat with the election declared inconclusive in 10 polling units.

The Independent National Electoral Commission announced the result of the polls on Sunday at the INEC Collation Centres in the three LGA headquarters.

The Returning Officer for Madara/Chinade Constituency where elections in 10 polling units were held, Prof. Ahmed Abdulkadir of the Abubakar Tafawa Balewa University, Bauchi, declared Dr. Ala Ahmed of the PDP as the winner with a total of 13,920 votes after he defeated his closest rival, Dantali Ali of the APC who polled 9,710 votes.

At the Bauchi Central, the returning officer, Prof. Ismail Shehu of ATBU declared Jamilu Dahiru as the winner with a total votes of 1, 857 while his closest opponent of the APC, Aliyu Abdullahi, got 858 votes.

Declaring the former Speaker of the Bauchi State House of Assembly winner, in the Ningi Central Constituency, the Returning Officer, Prof. Ahmed Abdulhamid also from ATBU said Suleiman of PDP scored 11,785 votes to defeat his opponent Khalid Ningi of the APC who polled 10,339 votes.

For the Zungur/Galambi Constituency, the Returning Officer, Prof. Adamu Samaila of ATBU declared the PDP candidate, Yusuf Ahmed, as the winner with 2,233 votes to defeat his closest opponent, Ibrahim Yuguda, of the APC with 1, 928 votes in the 12 polling units where the elections were held.

NATIONAL ACCORD reports that the votes garnered by each of the four candidates at the rerun election were added to what they initially got during the first poll in the March 18, 2023 general elections.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.