Bauchi speaker secures PDP ticket for Ningi Central Constituency

Speaker of Bauchi State Assembly, Hon. Abubakar Suleiman
Speaker of Bauchi State Assembly, Hon. Abubakar Suleiman


The Speaker of the Bauchi State House of Assembly, Rt. Hon. Abubakar Suleiman has been declared winner of the Ningi Central Constituency, under the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) during the State Assembly primary election which was held on Sunday.

Hon Suleiman, who is also the Chairman, Conference of Speakers of State Legislatures of Nigeria, was declared winner being an unopposed candidate in the election with 21 votes.

The Speaker who spoke to his cheering crowd of supporters that converged at the venue of the election, shortly after the announcement of the result, thanked the PDP delegates, party leaders, stakeholders and his constituents for the overwhelming support and confidence reposed in him.

While pledging to redouble his efforts in bringing the dividends of democracy to his Constituency and the State in general when reelected, he urged all members of the party and the constituents to work together to ensure the victory of PDP in all elections.

Meanwhile, two Commissioners who resigned from the Governor Bala Mohammed administration to contest for the House of Representatives, lost out from getting the tickets.

The former Commissioner of Works and a one-time Head of Service in the state, Abdulkadir Ibrahim, who resigned to contest to get the PDP ticket for the Alkaleri Federal Constituency lost to Abdulqadeer Dewu.

Similarly, the former Commissioner of Power, Science and Technology, Maryam Bagel, also lost her bid to get the ticket of the Dass/Tafawa Balewa/Bogoro Federal Constituency currently being occupied by former Speaker of the House or Representatives, Yakubu Dogara.

Bagel, who was the only Member of the Bauchi State House of Assembly representing Dass Constituency during the 8th Assembly, lost to Barrister Kefas Magaji, a former Special Adviser on Legal Matters, to Governor Bala Mohammed.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.