APC, PDP share spoils in Cross River rerun election



The All Progressives Congress (APC) and the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) have shared the spoils in the court-ordered rerun election in four Local Government Areas (LGAs) in Cross River.

Declaring the results in the early hours of Sunday, Feb. 4, the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) said that in the Akamkpa/Biase Federal Constituency rerun election, APC’s Emil Inyang secured the highest number of votes.

Inyang got 15,930 votes to defeat his closest opponent, Mr Austin Aidam of the PDP who secured 12,417 votes.

In the Obanliku State Constituency rerun election, PDP’s Ashakia Ashas scored 10,587 votes while his closest rival, APC’s Achunekang Sunday, scored 10,427 votes.

Similarly, in the Yala 2 State Constituency rerun election, Mr Achadu Martins of the PDP, who scored 9,168 votes, defeated his closest contestant, Mrs Nkasi Ekwok of the APC, who secured 8,647 votes. (NAN)

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.