France keeps borders with non-EU countries shut

France has decided to keep its borders with non-European Union (EU) countries shut, President Emmanuel Macron said in a speech to the nation late on Monday.

He did not say how long the measures would remain in effect.

To curb the coronavirus pandemic, all EU countries except Ireland agreed in mid-March to initially limit all non-essential travel to the EU for 30 days Switzerland, Norway, Liechtenstein, and Iceland are also complying.

The EU Commission last week proposed an extension of the entry freeze until May 15.

From the start, Macron had advocated stricter controls and entry restrictions at the borders of the Schengen area. (NAN)

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.